Supreme Court Bar Association Result: Kapil Sibal Elected SCBA President

Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal was elected President of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA)

Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal has been elected the new President of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA). In the election held on Thursday, Sibal secured 1,066 votes, defeating his closest rival, Senior Counsel Pradeep Rai, who received 689 votes.

This marks Sibal’s return to the role, having previously served as SCBA President in 2001-02 and twice before that, in 1995-96 and 1997-98. While the vote count for other candidates is still ongoing, Sibal has clearly taken the lead.

The results for the other candidates—Adish Aggarwala, Priya Hingorani, Neeraj Srivastava, and Tripurari Ray—are yet to be updated. Additionally, Advocate Rachana Srivastava was elected Vice President, securing 816 votes and narrowly defeating Sukumar Pattjoshi, who received 784 votes.

Six lawyers in race for President’s post: SCBA Elections

In the upcoming elections for the c (SCBA), six lawyers are vying for the prestigious post of President, along with other key positions like Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The polls are scheduled for May 16.

The contenders for the President’s position are:

  • Adish C Aggarwala (currently serving as President)
  • Kapil Sibal
  • Priya Hingorani
  • Pradeep Kumar Rai
  • Neeraj Srivastava
  • Tripurari Ray

Kapil Sibal, a Senior Advocate, is making a comeback to the race after over two decades, having previously held the position in 2001-02, and twice before that in 1995-1996 and 1997-1998.

Priya Hingorani, also a Senior Advocate, has a history of breaking barriers, having been the youngest Vice President and the first female Secretary of the SCBA.

The incumbent President, Adish C Aggarwala, secured victory last year over Senior Counsel Dushyant Dave. Additionally, Pradeep Kumar Rai and Neeraj Srivastava have contested in previous elections.

The Supreme Court, in a recent order, mandated that at least one-third of the Executive Committee positions in the SCBA should be reserved for women. Thus, for this year’s elections, three executive member positions, two senior executive member positions, and the treasurer post will be filled by women.

The current Vice President is Sukumar Pattjoshi, and Yugandhara Pawar Jha holds the position of Treasurer.

The election promises to be a significant event in the legal community, shaping the leadership of the SCBA for the coming term.

[See list of SCBA candidates]